Soy Sauce

Soy Sauce

Who would’ve thought that Soy Sauce has gluten in it?!

Though recipes for soy sauce differ among regional producers of the condiment, the primary ingredients are soybeans, roasted wheat, salt, and water. The soybeans are steamed and mixed with ground roasted wheat. Yeast is usually added to the wheat-soy mixture, and then combined with water and salt to form the liquid. Once the liquid is formed, the culturing process begins by allowing it to ferment for a time and then pressing it to separate the liquid from the solid constituents. The remaining liquid is then heat-sterilized and inspected for quality. If the liquid, now soy sauce, is of acceptable quality, it is bottled and shipped to stores.

Kikkoman now carries a Gluten-Free Soy Sauce in its line of products. I haven’t really looked for it at the stores so as of this writing, I am not sure how available it is at the markets. But I found it on Amazon, click here.

I have become partial to Bragg’s Liquid Aminos which is made from NON-GMO soybeans and purified water. It is an excellent, healthy replacement for Tamari and Soy Sauce. It is not fermented and it is Gluten-Free.  I use it just like soy sauce in recipes or on our rice. The boys (and even picky hubby) said it tastes just like soy sauce.

Maybe I have a more discerning palate but to me it does taste slightly different than traditional soy sauce but not enough to be a culinary problem. Plus, it contains 16 amino acids which are essential to nearly every bodily function.  Every chemical reaction that takes place in the body depends on them and the proteins that they build. Using Bragg’s Liquid Aminos makes me feeling like I’m doing something good for my body.

Bragg’s is found in most local market and can also be purchased on Amazon by clicking here.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *